On the First Snow Fall;;

Delta and Doc shall play.

We Shall Play

I really wanted to get both Doc and Delta out to play in the snow. I could take Delta to the dog park, but Doc is too young. So we took them to the park the dog park is at, but did the trails instead. When I first acquired Doc, I was afraid I would never be able to trust him off leash like Delta because he just wasn’t into training, paying attention to me, or staying by me. It really scared me and I refused to let him off leash.

Well, we got into the groove, he learned to love me, and now we love to train. I began by letting him off leash from the car to the house and he would do fantastic. I eventually, when it snowed a little bit the first time, would let Delta and Doc out at like, one o clock in the morning to play in our small backyard because our neighbors were asleep and they could run through their little backyard. They did fantastic and came whenever I called. So I decided to give it a go at the trails and see how they did. And they did AWESOME! Both came barreling at me for the treat whenever I told them to come. Even with small distractions such as smells or moving leaves, I would be more important!

COME!

I believe we walked about 2 1/2 miles in the snow. The pups showed a little bit of chilliness in the beginning but when they began running and exploring, they warmed up. They were leashed for part of the trip by the road on the way to the trail and on the way back. Doc did decent with his loose leash walking. Stopping whenever he pulls and rewarding staying close really pays off.

I’m trying to get as much energy out of Delta as possible because we have the big show on Thursday. She doesn’t need to Q or anything because she already has her RN title, but a lot of family will be there so I don’t want to be embarrassed. Lol When Delta’s agility class gets changed to Thursday at the beginning of the year, I will be putting Delta in the rally class at Doc’s training place, Buchele’s. I am excited to get more practice time in and be able to move up to Rally Advanced.

Ever Alert

My dogs were also lazy all day because the sun was a-shining and Delta is the ultimate sun bather. This made Doc have to be lazy too because Delta wouldn’t play with him. Lol

Sun Bathing

Well, I’m off. Have to pack the dog’s stuff, repackage turkey, and think of how to exercise Delta tomorrow. 🙂

Got Spots? Shall Enjoy.

About gotspots

Mother to two spotty dogs. Positive reinforcement user and avid RAW feeder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

