Hancock County Humane Society

Today I am doing my Blog for a Change post. And I figured I would do it on the Hancock Humane Society since I have just started interning there. They have a lot of wonderful dogs and are definitely trying to improve the lives of each one.

Every day there are volunteers that come in and clean their kennels, feed them, and another group of them takes them out into their two large yards and allows the dogs some free time to run around. These people do it every day, on their own time… and I just think that is wonderful! They get there around ten and don’t leave until around 3. They know each dog by name and know a bit about their personalities in the humane society. These people really care about these dogs.

Grizz, some kind of bully mix. But absolutely adorable. Big blocky head with short stubby legs. But don't let him fool you, he sure can run!

I have been training the dogs for a week now. I’ve worked with just a few as I only go in three times a week and I want to try and give them each individual attention. The ones I’ve worked with are:

Marla
Kristy
Reba

Kristy: She is a lab/german shepherd mix, I think. And she has a TON of energy. This dog just takes off running and run run runs like Delta does outside. It makes me so sad that she has to be kept in a kennel all day besides the two times she’s let out to run. I definitely think she would be so much better behaved outside of the humane society. She has a tendency to jump up at your face and try to lick you, but somehow her teeth get in the way. I have been bumped in the mouth with a tooth, so she doesn’t deliberately try to bite you. We’ve worked on that for a few days. She also takes treats VERY hard. She’s a gorgeous all black girl though, and very sweet.

Marla, 9 months old. She is such a little sweetie.

Marla: Is wonderful. I would take her home if I could. Such a sweetie. She’s 9 months old and arrived at the society when she was only 3 months old. So she’s grown up there. She knows to settle down when we are doing training and is a big lover. She loves training and catches on very quickly. She knows down and sit and we’re working on twirl. She has a tendency to jump that I am also working on. People say they can already see a difference in her!!! It’s so great. She’s so lovely… I wish someone would adopt this sweet girl.

Marla

Reba: I haven’t officially worked with Reba, but I did introduce myself. She has a fear of the leash that we’re going to be working on. People say she’s gotten a lot better, but I hope to make her near perfect. Lots of positive associations with the leash should do it. Show the leash and treat. And then don’t even try to put the leash on her. She’s a cute terrier mix that is brindle.

Grizz again

They have many dogs there, each with a unique look and I hope to get to know all of them so well…. actually, I don’t. I hope they are all adopted before I get to work with them. 🙂 They had two dogs they wanted me to work with, but the good news is by time I started, they were adopted! I hope they get the obedience classes they need so we don’t see them back in the society.

Here is a link to the Hancock County Humane Society. They also have a facebook!

Got Spots? Shall Enjoy!

Delta and Doc, a sunbathing day.

About gotspots

Mother to two spotty dogs. Positive reinforcement user and avid RAW feeder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hancock County Humane Society

  1. I love the last photo of Delta and Doc! What a cute pair!

  2. Oskar says:

    Great post!

    Nubbin wiggles,
    Oskar

  3. Kristine says:

    Yay for shelters and the amazing people that work in them. All of the wonderful blog the change posts this weekend have inspired me to get off my butt and volunteer at my shelter as well. It’s about time! Thanks for working so hard and giving your time.

    • gotspots says:

      I am so glad to hear that! I always wanted to volunteer at my shelter but never really took the initiative. Now that I am doing this… I plan on volunteering at any shelters I am ever by from now on when I move. It’s a lot of fun. 🙂

  4. Pup Fan says:

    Really great post!

  5. I’m still making my way through all of these wonderful Blog the Change posts. That is so great that you are getting out to your shelter to make a difference by working with these discarded dogs – and using positive methods to boot! Thank you for what you do!

  6. Carrie Boyko says:

    Thanks for stopping by All Things Dog Blog. We love company. I enjoyed a little polka dot fun on your site–cute! Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

