Are You Breeding Them?

No, no I am not. I get asked this very often. Today, I was asked this by a tech that works at the Humane Society. I wonder if she would have thought little of me if I had said yes, seeing as we were at a Humane Society.

I understand that just because my dogs are purebred and AKC registered does not mean they are worthy of being bred. Delta has never been evaluated by an AKC judge. Doc will hopefully be getting judged by an AKC judge. I am not a breeder, so I do not think I can make the decision to breed my dogs. I will leave that to the professionals. Asking me if I would eventually like to become a breeding professional, however, would be a difference question. Why yes, I think I would maybe like to become a professional breeder… someday. Someday far in the future because I still have a LOT to learn.

I think a lot of people have the idea that their dogs are AKC registrable, therefore they are automatically the prime example of their breed. But they aren’t. They could actually be very far from it. Or that the AKC name could bring them in a lot of money. And it could. But I understand that true professional breeders usually LOSE or break even on their puppies.

The fact is that it takes a lot to breed healthy, sound, conformationally correct puppies, and I still have a lot to learn. So no, I do not plan on breeding my two. That would be pretty hard considering Delta is spayed!

Got Spots? Shall Enjoy

Doc- 4 1/2 months

Delta- 1 1/2 Years

About gotspots

Mother to two spotty dogs. Positive reinforcement user and avid RAW feeder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Are You Breeding Them?

  1. Kristine says:

    They both are gorgeous, so I guess I can understand the question. But it is a little odd coming from somone at the humane society. Hopefully they would assume you weren’t. Good for you on making the best decision for you and your dogs!

    • Teri says:

      I wish more people realize that it takes more than being beauiful pups to make the decision to breed. So many more variables go into that decision. I think my dals are beautiful also but they are both altered LOL.
      BTW – Doc is growing up to be a gorgeous pup!!!

  2. Thank you for this blog. It is so true, too many people just become ‘backyard’ breeders without ever putting any thought into it. A truly good breeder studies first, and then only goes ahead when they feel they have a dog whose genes can actually benefit their breed, they don’t just put two nice looking or friendly dogs together and hope there are no genetic issues. I’m sure, working at the Humane Society, you get to see first hand all of the issues and unwanted dogs that come from irresponsible breeders. Maybe it should be a requirement that ANYONE looking to breed should have to put some time in at a shelter or rescue first…!

  3. Pingback: How To Take Care Of Your Pregnant Cat. : Cars Blog | Everything You should Know about Cars

Leave a Reply

