Always Getting Better

Wow, it’s been awhile since I posted! Time flies when you’re busy I guess. Haha.

Doc being stacked by his breeder.

Delta was my first dalmatian pup. Dals love to please their owners, so Delta is always willing to learn. We had fun learning new things, and by time she was six months old, I was ready to put her into Rally-O. SIX MONTHS OLD! I thought, Gosh, my dog is so good…. but I’m paying for it now. I worked so hard to teach Delta so much, I didn’t concentrate on the foundation. We didn’t have a good training school, and I was just learning about clickers and positive reinforcement, and training in general. I never had to train Honda, she came trained. So now I am paying for it.

Playing in the snow!

Delta has a very short attention span when something else more interesting is in the area. She does not have very good impulse control. These are things I now need to work on when it should have been the first thing I worked on. But it wasn’t.

Now that I have an awesome training school and am a lot more knowledgeable… I am changing with Doc. I think his personality also makes it easier, but we’ve spent loads of time on the foundation skills, and not so much on tricks or obedience commands. I’ll say it right now, Doc doesn’t know a lot of commands. He knows sit, down, come, twirl, mat, spin, shake left/right, high five, and he’s learning close it for doors. And while I sometimes think, Delta already knew so much more at this age!!!, I always tell myself that taking your time is good. You have the rest of his life. No need to rush. Enjoy puppy hood. With Delta, I couldn’t wait for her to be an adult. With Doc, I wish he would stay a pup forever. But alas, his puppy hood is flying by!!! He’s already six months old!

Delta, 9 months old at a lake to play with friends.

I have lots of aspirations for Doc, but I’m taking my time. Things I would love to do with him include conformation, rally, obedience, agility, and therapy dog. I think he has an amazing personality for therapy dog. I’d love to do road trials too, if we ever get horses. And maybe one day we’ll try tracking??? Nosework for sure. I just love spending time with my dogs, and doing everything we can. Ribbons and wins are nice, but I love bonding with my dogs.

I guess I’m just rambling… but I really do feel so bad I put Delta in this predicament. It’s not her fault. She’s such a good girl, and she definitely has her amazing spots… and she doesn’t blame me. And I don’t blame me. We all learn. So take the time to learn about training. It really is important with your dogs. Take your time… you have no one to show up or keep up with. It’s about bonding with your dogs and having fun! I’ve always had fun with Delta. And she loves to train.

My little baby girl, two months old.

Got Spots? Shall Enjoy.

About gotspots

Mother to two spotty dogs. Positive reinforcement user and avid RAW feeder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Always Getting Better

  1. Found you through the Pet Blogger Support list. They sure look like some amazing dogs!

  2. That is so true – it should never be about showing people up, or how fast you progress. I always say, it doesn’t matter which dog won, as long as dog and handler both have fun! That is great that you have so many plans for Doc down the road. I’ve tried several with my Toby, including therapy and rally and nosework. Right now we are on hiatus due to a leg injury and a persistent ear infection, but I can’t wait to get him back to classes. He too loves to train, and I miss working with him! 🙂

  3. gotspots says:

    Thank you for checking us out. I feel like I run my own two spotted circus. lol they are hilarious to live ethic and every day is an adventure with them.

    poor Toby! I hope he heals alright. I’m sure it is killing him not being able to work!

Leave a Reply

