My First Attempt Wasn’t Bad!

So since quite a few months ago I’ve wanted to start making my own collars so bad! But I didn’t have a sewing machine! Well, my lovely aunt bought me one for my graduation/birthday! 🙂 So I tried to do my first attempt at a collar today and it turned out pretty darn well!

This one was for Doc and it is a 1.5 inch ribbon overlay. My first line of thread I did was a little too far away so I had to play with how I wanted to feed it through to get close enough to the edge. The second time was much better! Now I just have to work on staying steady and even the whole time. This is when smaller necks will be nice! LOL! Anyways, here are a few pictures of the collar, with Doc modeling in some of them. 🙂

Whole Collar

Doc modeling collar showing hardware from Strapworks.com

Doc modeling collar showing off fabric

Got Spots? Shall Enjoy.

About gotspots

Mother to two spotty dogs. Positive reinforcement user and avid RAW feeder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My First Attempt Wasn’t Bad!

  1. Quite lovely! I am impressed! You should be very proud of this one. I’m assuming you used a regular web strap for the collar? Did you use anything to keep the ribbon from puckering, like some kind of interfacing?

    • gotspots says:

      I used a lightweight polypropelene. Makes for a very lightweight yet durable collar. And I didn’t use anything for the puckering, as I accidentally bought the wrong fabric tape, but I would use a double sided fabric tape. But even without it there isn’t much puckering.

  2. Very stylish! Nice job. And of course, you already have the perfect model to show off any collars!

  3. Dee says:

    Doc looks so proud! The collar is awesome and I LOVE the hardware. Much nicer than bare metal. Happy Belated B day!
    Dee & Gilda

    • gotspots says:

      Yes, he does make a good model. Lol silly boy. I love strapworks.com because you can color the metal. Deltas ribbon collar will be yellow black and white so I got her metal yellow. I can’t wait to make it lol

Leave a Reply

